It’s the little things…

Yesterday was such a glorious day in Adelaide; the first truly spring day in a long time. It was also my Mama’s birthday (happy birthday, Mama!), so I took her for breakfast by the sea, followed by a massage at my favourite, Endota day spa. It was such a beautiful day, so I wandered the shopping strip waiting for my mother, finding my way to my favourite teeny-tiny store, Little Bird.

Little Bird is one of those stores that’s hard to find, but when you find it, you swear you will never leave it. Or at least you will come back often.

But somehow I forgot it was there until yesterday…

It’s not a big store – ย in fact, it’s teeny-tiny – and somehow it’s not even cluttered. They just know how to find exactly the right things for their customers, and display them in such a way that inspires (and makes me salivate). From teeny tiny treasures, like seeds in the tiniest amber bottle, to pencils with inspiring reminders, notebooks, candles, hand-woven baskets , cushions and much more.

I don’t know about you, but I am really over department store/mall shopping; nothing inspires me. It’s all the same, with no story, no heart, and no service.

For me, it’s the little things that count these days. Yes, I’m talking about the sales person really engaging and enjoying your company, but it’s mostly the heart of the product that speaks to me. Why else would I pay $4 for a single lead pencil, when I can buy a pack of ten for the same price?

This is why I chose a hand-woven seagrass basket for my daughter’s teddies, and why I would happily wait and save up for an Armadillo rug, than have one right now for $99. It’s the attention to detail, the patience of the artisan, the creativity, the history, and, yes it’s cliche, but the love, darn it. And, if you’re really lucky, the product you choose may even help to change someone’s life.

What little things make the difference to you? What have you found or bought lately because of the little things?

4 thoughts on “It’s the little things…

  1. I so agree with you about the ‘soul’ of things and how so many things we can buy lack it. I too can be really happy when I find things that I really like and they then turn out to have been manufactured lovingly by a person or a small local firm or a small fair trade initiative, especially when it’s been done with respect for the environment and when you feel a lot of thought went into it. Enjoy your spring day…here autumn is starting ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

