Mission accomplished – tincture o’ rice

You may recall that a few weeks ago, I posted about trying my hand at tincture of basmati rice. Well, today it has been filtered, and is now ready for experimention in our perfumes.

Basmati rice fields - image from jollof-impex.com

Basmati rice fields – image from jollof-impex.com

But before I begin that process, I thought I’d tell you about the steps to make this tincture, and about the final result.

I started out with 500g of the best quality 100% basmati rice I could find (cost around $8 for the bag). I then lined a baking tray with unbleached baking paper, spread out the rice in fine layer, and roasted it at 120 degrees celcius for 15 minutes, stirring partway through to ensure even roasting.

Roasting the basmati rice

Roasting the basmati rice

I was careful not to roast at too high a temperature so as too maintain the fragrance and gentleness of the aroma.

After cooling completely, I half-filled a sterile jar with the roasted basmati rice, then added natural grape ethanol to fill the jar. The jar was left in a cool, dark cupboard for 3 weeks, during which time I shook it gently every few days, and tested the smell for potency.

Rice tincture - week 2

Rice tincture – week 2

Today, I filtered the concoction through a fine filter paper into a sterile dark glass bottle,

Hand-filtering the the tincture

Hand-filtering the the tincture

and here we have our final solution: tincture of basmati rice.

Filtered tincture of basmati rice

Filtered tincture of basmati rice

Although the initial tincture was quite cloudy, the final filtered tincture is lovely and clear, with a creamy aroma of basmati rice, and more than a hint of green coconut juice! (My brain is flowing with ideas….!)

And there you have it 🙂

x

3 thoughts on “Mission accomplished – tincture o’ rice

Leave a Reply

