Why oil can change your life (or, at least your skin)

If you are like me, and have spent years and years trying to find that one solution for your skin, then you probably want to read on.

Don’t worry – this is not a gimmick story. I hate gimmicks. No, this is a tale about how simple is almost always best. And about how giving your skin the best treatment it deserves does not cost $335 a bottle.

 

crem

image borrowed from mybeautybinge.com

 

My skin story

As a child I had beautiful skin. People told me that all the time. Even as a teenager I was never prone to acne breakouts, thanks to good genes. But womanhood in all its glory did not bring out the best in my skin, and by the time I was in my mid 20s, what I saw in the mirror was usually oily, blotchy, spotty, and, well, just not sparkly anymore.

I spent years trying every natural product that promised to give me my sparkle back, but nothing did the trick. So I wore daily foundation (natural products, of course), and just thought it was my tough luck. First world problems, right?

image borrowed from seenox.org

image borrowed from seenox.org

Fast forward to 12 months ago. I ran out of moisturiser one fine morning, and out of desperation, I began to use olive oil day and night for a week. Yes, olive oil, as in, from the pantry. And what do you know, by the end of the week, no more spots! And 12 months later, still no spots! No oil slick. Less wrinkles around my eyes (honestly), and I’m even going makeup free a few days a week. It’s safe to say I am now a complete advocate of pure plant oils for skin care, even for the oiliest of skins like mine.

Olive oil is fantastic, but I do sometimes smell like bruschetta in the morning, so it was time to return to my roots and formulate an oil-based product that would be simple, effective, smell amazing and maybe even rejuvenating for my (cough, two weeks from 40) skin. And so the One Seed Organic Multipurpose Elixir was born.

BOTANICAL MUSK ELIXIR CROP 2

About the Elixir

I spent 6 months working on this formula. I wanted it to be rich in nutrients, but not greasy. I wanted it to feed the deepest layers of the skin, but still leave a silky finish. Most of all, I wanted it to replace everything else I had been using. One product for face, body, hair, bath… And it had to smell amazing.

The Elixir is 100% natural, and contains at least 90% organic ingredients which have been specifically chosen (and tested) to meet these criteria. They provide your skin with an unbelievable multivitamin and mineral boost, tonnes of antioxidants, and the youthful-ageing benefits of sea buckthorn and pomegranate extracts. We use virgin oils (ie those that haven’t been refined) to keep the true nature and potency of the plant in tact and provide the highest possible benefits for your skin. We just havent seen anything else on the market like it.

The scents we’ve chosen are designed to ‘bloom’ on the skin over 30 minutes or so, but they are subtle so they don’t interfere with your perfume (or your perfume-free office!). And so far the feedback has been amazing.

elixir trio crop

So that’s the story about how oil changed my life (nope, but it definitely did change my skin). We’d love you to try it and let us know what you think!

 

Liz

xx

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Why oil can change your life (or, at least your skin)

  1. Snap! I turn 40 in 2 weeks too! šŸ˜€

    These elixirs sound stunning, I look forward to trying them out soon!

Leave a Reply

